The City Recorder serves as the City's Elections Officer.  The Elections Officer assists the public with election issues, such as running for City office or filing an initiative petition.  Working with governmental partners, such as the Jackson County Elections Office and the Oregon Secretary of State Elections Division, the City Recorder oversees City elections.
The City's elected officials are considered biennially, during the General Election.  During election years, forms and information regarding the City's elections will be available on this webpage.

For more information, please visit:
     Jackson County Elections Office at https://jacksoncountyor.org/clerk/Elections/Elections-Office.
     Oregon Secretary of State Elections Division at https://sos.oregon.gov/voting-elections/Pages/default.aspx.

2022 City Council Elections Overview

2022 City Council Elections

Thank you for your interest in running for the office of City Councilor. In the November 8, 2022 General Election, voters will consider the following City Council positions to serve four-year terms beginning January 1, 2023 and ending December 31, 2026: 

     Ward 1 Councilor - Currently held by Alex Poythress           Ward 2 Councilor - Currently held by Clay Bearnson

     Ward 3 Councilor - Currently held by Kevin Stine                 Ward 4 Councilor - Currently held by Michael Zarosinski

Eligibility Requirements 

  1. Candidate must be registered to vote. Verify your voter status HERE
  2. Must have continuously lived within Medford's city limits during the six months immediately preceding the election.
    • Please note that Medford city limits do not align with area zip codes. To verify your city of residence, click HERE
  3. Must reside in the ward they represent and remain living within that ward throughout their term.

To verify your ward for elections, please review the updated MEDFORD WARDs map  after may 23, as the boundaries have recently changed.  


Things to consider

  • Councilors are volunteers; you will receive no monetary compensation for serving on the City Council
  • An estimated 10-25 hours will be spent each week on City business 
  • Attendance at 24 Council meetings and approximately 24 study sessions held Thursday evenings at 6 p.m.  
  • Councilors also serve as members of the Medford Urban Renewal Agency (MURA) Board, as well as the budget committees for both the City of Medford and MURA; service on other boards and commissions may be assigned

2022 Elections Forms and Information



Elections information and candidacy forms are available in the City Recorder's Office. Candidates must complete all forms and procedures before 5:00 p.m. on August 22 to meet the State's August 30 filing deadline. 

Please contact the City Recorder at (541) 774-2017 or recorder@cityofmedford.org to schedule an appointment to complete your paperwork. The City Recorder and the Deputy City Recorder will make every effort to accommodate walk-ins; however, due to limited staffing and previously-scheduled commitments, appointments are preferred.  

Resources for City Council Candidates: 

City of Medford Materials:

General Information(PDF, 131KB)
Medford City Council Handbook
Election Dates(PDF, 154KB)
Election Signage(PDF, 158KB)

Oregon Secretary of State Elections Office

County, City and District Candidate Manual
Candidate "Quick Guide" on Campaign Finance Reporting
ORESTAR User's Manual: Candidacy Filing
Campaign Committee

Jackson County Elections Office 

The League of Oregon Cities offers free reference and training materials for City Councilors, including: 

So, You Want to Run for Local Office Guide
Election Information
Local Government; the Basics
Elected Essentials Training Videos



2022 Unofficial Election Results - Medford City Councilor

November 9, 2022, 2am Release

The Jackson County Clerk will provide official certified election results to the City when available.


Ward 1 Councilor
Jessica Ayres                             66.59%

Curt Ankerberg                         32.33%


Ward 2 Councilor
Zac Smith                                  54.00%

Clay Bearnson                          45.34%


Ward 3 Councilor
Kevin Stine                                40.48%

Bob Shand                                 20.47%

Jessica Freedom Allen            37.95%


Ward 4 Councilor
Nick Card                                   43.91%

Matt Roberts                             17.31%

Kathleen Blackshear               38.44%